ISO 9000

ISO 9000 was first established in 1987 by the ISO. ISO 9000 is a set of international standards designed for quality management and quality assurance to help the organizations ensure that they meet the criteria or needs of customers and other organizations related to the product or program. They are not specific to any one industry and can be applied to any institution, program or any big organization.

ISO 9000 can helps a company to satisfy its clients, meet regulatory and statutory requirements, related to a product or program and achieve continual improvement. ISO 9000 deals with the fundamentals of quality management systems. However, it should be considered to be the first step, the base level of a quality system, though, they do not guarantee the quality.

ISO 9001

ISO 9001:2008 is the title of a document or standard that outlines the needs of an organization that must maintain their quality system for ISO 9001:2008 certification. There are various different documents in the ISO 9000 family of standards, but ISO 9001-2008 is the only ISO standard that requires ISO certification. It is the most recent standard and 2008 refers to the latest year of revision.

This title specifies the requirements for a quality management system where an organization needs to illustrate its ability to provide products for its customers and aims to enhance customer satisfaction.


Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) is an internationally recognized system that is used to identify and manage significant food safety dangers and ensure food safety for your organization. HACCP can be used in all the stages of the food chain, from primary production to the final consumption of any product, forming an important backbone of risk-based food safety programs, like:

  • Risk Management Programs (RMPs)
  • Wine Standards Management Plans (WSMPs).

HACCP generally keeps a check in food security from physical or chemical production hazards that can cause a product to be unsafe or even fatal.

ISO 14001

The ISO 14001 Environment Management System (EMS) standard is an environmental management standard with international recognition which was first developed in 1996. It is a systematic framework to manage the immediate and long-term impact of an organization’s products, services and processes on the environment. ISO Certification Europe is a credit to certify your environmental management system to the ISO 14001 standard.

The current version of ISO 14001 is the ISO 14001:2015 which was established in and reviewed in 2015.

ISO 14001 environmental certification provides a framework for environmental management best practice to help organizations:

  • Diminish the risk of pollution incidents
  • Develops operational improvements
  • Ensure compliance with relevant environmental legislation.
  • Develop their business in a sustainable manner.
  • Minimize the adverse changes to the air, land, and water
  • Comply with the laws and regulation of the environment
  • Make an improvement in all the above points.

ISO 9000 VS ISO 9001

With all the thousands of ISO standards out there, it’s difficult to understand the difference between them. This explains the purpose of the ISO 9000 standards, leading to the ISO 9001 standards, which covers the requirements of a Quality Management System (QMS).

ISO 9000 is a family of standards focused on quality management, put together from a wide range of organizations and experts both in the public and private sectors. The ISO 9000 is intended to help the organizations, no matter what size or industry, better management, more efficient and effective, and more customer satisfaction.

There are multiple standards within the ISO 9000 family including ISO 9000 itself, which sets the working by providing the fundamentals and theory. The other standards cover specific areas such as performance education, improvements, documentation, and training. There is also ISO 9001, which determines the requirements of a Quality Management System (QMS). ISO 9001 is a family that contains the requirements whereas, ISO 9001 looks to create customer satisfaction, help organizations, meeting statutory and regulatory requirements.

ISO 9001 VS 14001

  1. No ‘normative references’ are defined in ISO 14001 bur ‘normative references’ are defined under ISO 9001
  2. ISO 9001 asks for a Quality Management System but ISO 14001 doesn’t.
  3. ISO 9001 requires six documented ‘procedures’ whereas, ISO 14001 requires only one documented ‘procedure’, i.e.; control over significant environmental aspects.
  4. ISO 14001 requires to document Responsibilities & Authorities but ISO 9001 doesn’t require them to be documented in any way.
  5. Exclusions (under clause 7.0) are permitted in ISO 9001 but not under ISO 14001.
  6. ISO 9001 exclusively focuses on advancing ‘Customer Satisfaction while the ISO 14001 aims at minimizing the harmful effects of our activities, products & services on environment & Prevention of Pollution in the wider interest of the world.

Related Article-