ISO i.e. International Organisation for Standardisation is an organization that sets the standards for many of the businesses and the technologies including the computing and communications. The ISO certification gives an organization the quality system that provides the foundation to better the customer satisfaction, the staff motivation, and the continual improvement.

ISO 9001 is a quality management system which is based on principles such as customer focus, continual improvement, system approach to the management and the involvement of the people. The other major four ISO 9001 principles are leadership, process approach, factual approach to the decision making and mainly the mutual beneficial supplier relationship.

ISO 9001 certification has made the understanding very easy because it is a quality management system standard that requires an organization to meet its own requirements and those of its customers and the regulators. It is basically based on the plan-do-check-act methodology, which helps the organizations establish themselves, implement the plans, monitor the actions and measure their processes in the organization to deliver results that align with the organization’s needs.

ISO 9001 is basically made up of eight sections i.e. scope, the normative reference, the terms and definitions, the quality management system, the management responsibility, the resource management, the product realization and the measurement and analysis and improvement. The first three sections provide general information about the standard whereas the last five focus on how to implement it.


It specifies that the organization needs to meet the customers and regulatory requirements. And ensure its employees follow their policies and procedures while advancing quality through the continual improvement.

Normative reference:

It provides normative references to those that conform to ISO 9000’s related norms and to constitute the terms of ISO 9001.

Terms and definitions:

It defines the terms that are used in the standard. It highlights the differences between the 2000 version and the 1994 version.

Quality management system:

It describes the standard’s general requirements, which encompass all of the activities from quality manual documentation and control of the documents. And the records to determining the sequence and interaction of the processes for implementing actions to achieve the planned results.

Management responsibility:

It requires management’s commitment to the quality management system and management should be dedicated to the products, customers and planning and the review processes.

Resource management: It provides the criteria needed to perform a job competently and in a very safe environment. Human resources, infrastructure planning, and the work environment are discussed in this section.

Product realization: It defines the steps in product development. These steps include everything from the initial design phase to the final delivery phase.

Measurement, analysis, and improvement:

It focuses mainly on measuring, analyzing and improving the quality management system by making companies perform periodical internal audits. It also monitors customers satisfaction, control non-conforming product, analyze data and take corrective and preventive actions for it.

Hence, the understanding of the ISO Certification had been made a lot easier for all of us because of the quality management system which helps to regulate properly in the organization and satisfy the customer’s needs and demands easily.

Related Topic: What is ISO 22000 Certification Standard for Food Safety